Poets logo

Tranquil

A haiku story

By Cathy holmesPublished 29 days ago โ€ข 1 min read
photo by Bagir Bahana on Unsplash

Wild clouds dancing

Free-rhyme embraces my soul

Beyond horizons

*

Water carving peace

Slicing salty expanses

Leaving quietude

*

Navigating dusk

Beneath uncharted stars to

Free destinations

*

Natureโ€™s sea canvas

Catching whisps of ocean breeze

My solace, my home

--

Words used:

Wild, Clouds, Dancing, Free, Rhyme, Embrace, Horizon, Water, Carving, Peace, Slicing, Salty, Expanse, Leaving, Quietude, Navigating, Dusk, Beneath, Uncharted, Stars, Destination, Sea, Canvas, Catching, Whisps, Ocean, Breeze, Solace, Home

*****

For Randy Baker's Prompted #5 challenge.

nature poetryHaiku

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

  • Angie the Archivist ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿชถ3 days ago

    Beautiful! Perfect title for the mood captured in your haiku poemsโ€ฆ the sea has a similar effect on me!๐Ÿ˜

  • I feel so peaceful now ๐Ÿ˜

  • Hannah Moore25 days ago

    THis is so lovely and calm, but not in a still, dead way, in a accepting, connecting way.

  • I love that you chose this Haiku style - I never even considered this! Really well done Cathy ๐Ÿ™๐ŸŒŸโ™ฅ๏ธ

  • angela hepworth28 days ago

    Lovely work! I love your incorporation of nature into your work.

  • D.K. Shepard29 days ago

    Love that you created a haiku story for this challenge! All the ocean and sky imagery using the words lended very well to the form!

  • Christy Munson29 days ago

    Love where you took this challenge. Always enjoy reading your writing!

  • Novel Allen29 days ago

    I can feel the ocean breeze, see the stars and feel the wonder of creation. Lovely.

  • Whoaaaa, you used so many words!! I used only 10 from two of Poppy's Prompts about a few weeks ago and I'm still exhausted, lol. You're so freaking amazing! Queen for a reason! Loved your beautiful set of Haikus!

  • Grz Colm29 days ago

    Wonderful Haikus Cathy! โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ‘

  • A lovely work by you!

  • Caroline Craven29 days ago

    Perfect. Could feel a sense of calmness wash over me. Great stuff.

  • Heather Hubler29 days ago

    Holy cow did you use a lot of words!! That was quite beautiful, my friend :)

  • Babs Iverson29 days ago

    Wonderful and loving it!!!โค๏ธโค๏ธ๐Ÿ’•

  • Carol Townend29 days ago

    How I wish my home felt calm right now. I love this Cathy, it reminds me to put the love back into my home.

  • Cathy, I live on the Gulf of Mexico and you captured the feeling perfectly!! Good luck in the challenge!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)29 days ago

    What breathtaking imagery and sensory elements in this haiku Cathy!! I especially enjoyed the stanza "Water carving peace Slicing salty expanses Leaving quietude"... I felt like I could taste the salt on my tongue and hear the silence ringing after the rise of the waves crashing ended. Great work!!

  • What a lovely piece, Cathy! It soothes my soul.

Cathy holmesWritten by Cathy holmes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.