Poets logo

Tracks

Panda of Pandemonium

By Panda of PandemoniumPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Tracks
Photo by Aleksandr Saenko on Unsplash

Ha...

I’ve seen this place before…

In my dreams...

No…

This seems a little more real…

Feet firmly planted I remove my shoes, allowing the sensations from my sole to comfort my soul…

I’ve been here before…

Setting my shoes on the outside of the tracks, I stand…

Eyes set on the endlessness of existence, my mind begins to wonder...

Toes now splayed in the mulched ground , I begin to crouch…

Hands grace planted metal, rails sing in long lost unison…

Appreciative of the graces now bestowed…

Dropping my head I see the reactions of a million individuals past…

Indications of their present and my future…

I’ve seen this before…

Constant chirping of the a nearby fowl peak my curiosity as I ascend to a resting stance….

Where are you?

One turns to two, turns to ten, turns to twenty…

Lining the hedge they sit…

Leering…

The chirps turn to caws and to shrills and to shrieks …

Their sizes growing….

Aligned in the order of their nature…

I can feel their eyes attempting to break through the carefully crafted exterior of my hidden treasures….

I’ve been heard this before….

Each reverberation of auditory expressions expressed by these fowl creatures press upon me as I stand …

Inquisitive…

Boastful…

Empathetic…

Emotions swirled from those now taunting me from the sidelines…

I begin to move forward…

The ground beneath my feet speaking with each step...

An agitated rail….

A broken bottle….

The moist firmness of the sod…

Not two steps in and already I have been wounded and comforted….in the same breadth of time…

The sounds grow in response to my wincing…

Haughty, vengeful….

As I continue moving my pace quickens...

No longer do I feel the nuances of the road before me…

No longer does the pain of the occasional piece of glass or nail piercing through my feet elicit any reaction…

The shrill shrieks and cawing …

Sound like chirping once again…

Yet none have left…

Many have just fallen silent…

Others …

I am unable to hear...

Only those…

Small and few…

Continue to speak …

Calming …

Soothing…

Their songs reverberating in my mind like a delicate entrée of peace….

Now in full stride it seems there is no end to this track…

And that’s ok…

My shoes long gone…

My sanity….

Returning for once in a long time…

There is no end to this track…

For now…

And that’s ok with me…

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Panda of Pandemonium

Embark on a thrilling adventure through the vibrant worlds Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Poetry.

Immerse yourself in our captivating storytelling, mesmerizing artistry, and transformative emotional experiences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.