Poets logo

Toy on the Shelf

broken

By Wendy Carroll Gardenour Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Toy on the Shelf
Photo by Nong Vang on Unsplash

Toy on the Shelf

I live my life like a toy on a shelf

Waiting to be played with

Not the most popular toy, mind you

I’m the toy that is not quite good enough

To be played with when your friends can see

I am the one that gets brought to bed when the nights are lonely

Shown attention when nobody is looking

Comfortable and safe

Warm and inviting

But not for public viewing

I wonder how long it would take

For somebody to notice me missing

If I were to be stolen away

To live on another shelf

Maybe on my new shelf

I would be proudly displayed

A treasure among the rubble

But always longing for the careless one that lost me

Fin

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Wendy Carroll Gardenour

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.