Poets logo

Toxic Trait

Toxic heart

By J BPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

My toxic trait is

I am co-dependent

I am co-dependent

So I allow him sell me dreams with his words

And disregard his opposing action

I am co-dependent

So remind myself I am still learning and growing

Sometimes growth hurts

I am co-dependent

So I continue to strive for perfection

I know once I reach it

His hands will soften

I am co-dependent

So I reassure him still love him

Laying my head in his lap

As I pick myself up off the

I am co-dependent

So I spend my life proving I will never leave

Proving I am worth the stress I cause him

Proving that even though I am the only one who can turn him into this monster

Maybe he needs me just as much as I need him

Maybe love can change a man

But I love him no more than he loves me

No more than I love myself

There is no love in co-dependenc



sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

J B

Stay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.