Poets logo

Tower Prison

This is a poem I wrote as inspiration for a short story I was working on, yes inspired by a biblical idea but with my own twists and inspiration.

By Alixzandra WisemanPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Tower Prison
Photo by H.F.E & CO on Unsplash

I was once an angel from high above, with glowing white wings made of feathers so soft, they seemed to shimmer in my holy, iridescent glow.

But under the bitter word of man, I was torn from my purest light and locked away in a tower, my prison now alone from any high above or any far below.

Every window looks out upon a sea of burning sand, but this is a between world, this is not hell, nor am I Lucifer, but I'm she, his wife cursed for his betrayal, for I was loyal to God, both light and dark, yet now that does not matter for I'm punished none the less.

But purest light must fade in time like the rising and setting of the sun, and so though bitter eyes the purest of God that watches down upon me, still also dark. For I'm banished from heaven heights, and refused in hell below for neither God shall welcome me, and so I remain cursed in prison between worlds of heaven and hell.

For I betrayed both heaven and hell and walked amongst the mortal world, for what is the use to merely watch those of a mortal state, if we ourselves can not learn, nor teach or protect, for mortal man can be so cruel, and how little I understood their bitter tongues. But bitter lies to my love they did tell and now I'm banished to my tower between the realms of heaven and hell.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.