Poets logo

Touch in the Crowd: A Poem of Simmering Attraction and Dawning Desire

This free verse poem captures the invigorating energy of a rushing marketplace. The poet, drawn to a stranger's eyes, walks side-by-side through a vibrant scene. The sights, sounds, and smells create a sensory overload, amplifying the growing attraction between them. The poem explores the power of a shared touch. A delicate necklace becomes a catalyst, their fingers skimming as they examine it. A simple hand on hand sends a jolt of electricity through them, a silent promise of what might unfold. The tension builds as the poem progresses. Locked gazes and intertwined fingers hint at a deeper connection. Will they take the next step and seal their fragile trust with a kiss?

By Kingsley Gomes, PhD.Published 3 days ago 2 min read

The Fragile Trust

We walk side by side through the crowded market,

the scent of cardamom and cinnamon wafting from the vendors.

The sounds of merchants calling out their wares,

the clanging of pots and pans,

the rustle of fabrics,

It's a dissonance that surrounds us.

Your eyes lock onto mine,

a flash of curiosity dancing in our depths.

I hold your gaze,

my pulse quickening,

as we make our way through the throng.

The sun beats down,

its warmth seeping into my skin,

making my senses come alive.

We stop at a stall,

the vendor holding up a delicate silver necklace,

the intricate patterns glinting in the light.

You reach out,

your fingers closing around the chain,

and I notice the way your skin looks against the metal,

smooth and unblemished.

I feel a pang of attraction,

a flutter in my chest,

as I watch you handle the necklace with precision.

The vendor's voice is a gentle hum,

a soothing melody that underscores the tension between us.

You turn to me,

the necklace dangling from your fingers,

and I notice the way your eyes crinkle at the corners,

the way your eyebrows arch.

I feel a spark of connection,

a sense of possibility,

as our eyes meet.

We walk on,

the silence between us a confiding thing,

a fragile thread that binds us together.

The scent of exotic spices fills the air,

Rich and complex,

and I breathe it in,

my senses heightened.

I notice the way you move,

Fluid and confident,

your hips swaying with each step.

Your hand touches mine,

a gentle pressure that makes my skin tingle.

I notice the way your fingers fit against mine,

the way our palms align.

It's a small touch,

but it sends a frisson through me,

a sense of expectance.

We stop at a small café,

the tables spilling out onto the sidewalk.

You take my hand,

your fingers interlacing with mine,

and I notice the way our hands fit together,

the way our fingers mesh.

The touch is intimate,

possessive,

and I feel a rush of excitement,

a sense of possibility.

The coffee is rich and bold,

the flavor exploding on my tongue.

I look up,

meeting your eyes,

and I see the desire there,

the hunger,

the need.

I feel a sense of connection,

a sense of belonging,

as our eyes lock.

Your fingers tighten around mine,

a gentle pressure that makes my skin tingle.

I notice the way your eyes focus on mine,

the way your pupils dilate.

I feel a sense of intimacy,

a sense of closeness,

as we sit together,

hands clasped,

eyes locked.

We sit there,

suspended in time,

the world around us fading away.

The only sound is the clinking of cups,

the rustle of newspapers.

I feel a sense of rapacious,

a sense of predacious,

as I wait for you to make the next move.

And then you lean in,

your mouth inches from mine,

and I can feel the warmth of your breath,

the softness of your lips.

The world around us vanishes,

leaving only the two of us,

suspended in time.

I feel a rush of excitement,

a sense of possibility,

as our lips almost touch,

the tension between us a fragile trust.

---------- ---------- ---------- -----------

© 2024 Kingsley Gomes. All rights reserved.

Friendshiplove poemsFree Versefact or fiction

About the Creator

Kingsley Gomes, PhD.

Professional engineer with a passion for storytelling, crafting compelling narratives that explore the human experience. Author of poetry, short stories, and inspirational articles, weaving words into emotional journeys.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kingsley Gomes, PhD.Written by Kingsley Gomes, PhD.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.