Poets logo

Torturous Longings

Pleading to be set free

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
Torturous Longings
Photo by Adrian Swancar on Unsplash

I worshipped the ground upon which you trod

Lived my every moment in your shadow

Drinking only of your light

Yet you left me in darkness

You eviscerated my very soul

With your every cutting remark

Yet I returned always for more

My only yearning to be yours

I showered you with gifts, poetry, praise

Gave unto you the very marrow of my bones

Yet you rent my heartsrings to shredded twine

With your clawed, sharpened tongue

I know I need to go ...

If ever I am to thrive

Yet my core is molten lava

Cooled only by you

If I am not enough, not what you need

Tell me... Please, just let me go

Allow me to wither without you

Or seek another way to flourish

I beg you ....

love poemsslam poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Omggg, this is soooo heartbreaking! This is what happens sometimes when we put someone on a pedestal. Especially if they're a narcissist!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.