Poets logo

Top Girl

Poetry Inspired by TV Show Top Boy

By KelPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2
Top Girl
Photo by René Ranisch on Unsplash

In that quiet alley, beneath the moon so bright,

I'm standing here, lost in the dead of night.

I did what I had to, no way to undo,

Took another life, man, this ain't nothing new.

The gunshots still echo, they're ringing in my ears,

My conscience's whispering, drowning in my fears.

The metallic smell, that life I stole,

I can't escape the weight, deep down in my soul.

Just another player in this twisted game we're in,

A world where we're all caught up in the sin.

In these dimly lit streets, where shadows twist and squirm,

Sometimes you do what you do, or you're just another worm.

In that split-second moment, life slipped away,

I saw a glimpse of my fate in a different way.

In this world we're living, it's a never-ending fight,

Where the line between the hunted and the hunter ain't so tight.

Now, I'll fade into the dark, my heart turned stone-cold,

In this world where right and wrong are bought and sold.

It's a life I'm living, a path with no return,

In the heart of the city, where secrets forever churn.

fact or fictionsocial commentarysad poetry
2

About the Creator

Kel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    I don't watch Top Boy, but this piece definitely made me visualise your narrative well. Nicely written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.