Poets logo

Too Much, Girl

Growing Up

By Clarissa GarciaPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

School was a place where dress codes became laws

You could not wear shorts and a tank top when it

was 100 plus degrees outside Because apparently

the heat boiled in the minds of small boys

who didn’t know what they were feeling

In reality, it was adults calling you out in front of the class

Measuring your skirt to see how many inches your modesty is

because they were uncomfortable

It was too hard to see a 13-year-old girl

in comfortable clothing

It must be covered up with leftover gym clothes

or even better

locked away in a room filled with kids who had a reason

It was hard to see a 13-year-old girl feeling confident

This was a time where if boys were bullies

it was not their fault

No

they blamed it on the masses of girls maturing too fast

that it was a distraction

Hips getting wider

Breast getting larger

Girls becoming women was wrong

Well guess what

I am 21-years-old now, And I am here to tell you you have only made me stronger

Do not tell me that I am beautiful without Urban Decay, Kat Von D, or Too faced

because I already know

I fill myself with the glitteriness of bath bombs

and Chick Fil A sweet tea

I douse myself every morning in the over powering aroma of fresh feminism

I light my vanilla scented candles with the hot flame of victory

I am a woman

I walk down the street fully aware of what I am wearing

And I still get the occasional

“I can see your bra”

Well my answer to that is

“Good I’m glad you can see it

because it was fucking expensive"

Being a woman in this so called “man’s world”

I am happy

I finally have reason to prove to everyone that I have a purpose

Which is to climb real high to the top of this society, and write

“We Are Flawless”

on the walls in bright pink color stay lipstick

What?

you don’t support women’s rights?

That’s too bad

You must be destroyed now

Women all over the world are coming together

finally

We have been portrayed as ornaments prizes and wallpaper

Little pieces of paper that can be thrown away

There are two types of women

The caregiver or the slut

Wrong

There is only one type of woman

Warrior

I will not sit quiet and smile anymore

I will be the future

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.