Poets logo

Too Close To The Chaos

The Flicker Of Fate

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Too Close To The Chaos
Photo by Wren Meinberg on Unsplash

I stand where the yellow flame, dissolves into heat

tween turbulence and semblance of order

A shaky existence, where chaos and fate meet

taking chances, like some kind of hoarder

With my gas can in hand

I step towards the flame

risking what I am

to feel whole again

Daring the match to compete with the fire

watching to see where my - self gets inspired

Only to find those old scars have built up

completely immovable, and as ugly as fuck

A starring contest with the beast in the flame

laughing as I hear it cry, cursing my name

I pull out my whip, and snap it into submission

compared to my past, it was no competition

slam poetry

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock10 months ago

    I'm a bit of a pyromaniac, I've always loved to watch campfires, bonfires, fire pits, fireplaces, etc. So likening this part of your journey to a fire is thoroughly captivating for me, so much so I'm not sure I've necessarily heard what you are trying to say being so lost in myself with this. I may have to come back to it in the morning.

  • You hit this one outta the park! Well done!

  • Mark Graham10 months ago

    We all need a little chaos in our lives from time to time for it makes us think.

  • Matthew Mccahey10 months ago

    Great poetry, I love the imagery of chaos and the fire

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Ouch, the whip is out. Don't mess with Kelli today. Chaos had better stand clear. Very Amazonian and strongly worded poetry today. Very well done,

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.