Poets logo

Toe Taps

Poem by H.M.

By Hayley MattoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

If I sit alone...

Then I will.

But understand if that be the case then I choose to also stand alone.

Walk at my own pace.

Momentum in my own hips swing.

I will smile at strangers, and smize at familiar faces.

Learn to hate, forget to love.

Become a master of letting go.

If I have to sit alone, riddled with so many insecurities...

Insecurities I feel should show like bullet holes.

But don't.

Instead show through anxious habits.

Toe Taps,

Hand Shakes,

Heart Aches, Races, Screams.

Understand that if this is what I must do then I will do it best.

Be the best me I have ever seen.

Make being alone my choice, you'll feel it in my voice.

Unexpectedly warm. Like it was a predetermined course.

Understood solely by me.

I will not give you the expected.

I will not show malice and hate.

I will not grow cold or intoxicated with self righteous power.

I remain instead bold, human... me.

Riddled with insecurities.

Coping through my anxieties.

Tapping my Toes.

Letting my Heart Race.

Standing firm, tall in hope, short in spite.

For if I must sit alone then I will.

Riddled with my own insecurities.

Reflecting only my next victories.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Hayley Matto

Just a 26yr old processing the 🌎 one sh*tty poem at a time. Need human connection or just killing time?

Read some thoughts by She.

-P.S. that’s me.

Insta: @thoughts.by.she 🖤 Thanks for tuning in! Much Love.

Shout Out to ViM 🤍 Love 'em.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.