Poets logo

Today is the day…

Today is the best day of my life...

By Irina PattersonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
image credit https://pixabay.com/photos/sea-beach-sunrise-coast-rocks-6397001/

The sunrise full of promise as if to say

This is the day you'll make it.

The golden disk of the sun is

a majestic omen in

the purple silk of sky.

My eyes wide open as if to see

all things I can become.

“Today is the day,”

someone whispers into my ear

And just like that,

I feel a sense of superpowers.

People will say

“She's talented,” they'll say.

That's a laugh because I'm not.

I am hungry.

Simply hungry to live and leave

a few brush strokes here and there

before I've left and disappeared

into the darkness of a black hole,

where we are all end up eventually.

I hope the final day for me isn't today.

Today, I will be busy

breaking complex things into small steps,

loving harder with an open heart.

Today — the day I say “I can”

when naysayers say “you can't”,

and while they are saying it,

I'll be doing my thing,

pressing forward until I succeed.

Today is that day,

the best day of my life.

. . .

Dear Readers, thank you for reading! I write mostly about love and meaning of life. Feel free to share my poetry and stories with your loved ones. I also read my writing at public events as a professional performer. Special Thanks to Pam Mayer — my tireless friend, editor, and collaborator.

inspirational

About the Creator

Irina Patterson

M.D by education -- entertainer by trade. I try to entertain when I talk about anything serious. Consider subscribing to my stuff, I promise never to bore you.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Irina PattersonWritten by Irina Patterson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.