Poets logo

Today I Thought About Climate Change

An ecopoem

By Aisha LamaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2022
6
Today I Thought About Climate Change
Photo by Li-An Lim on Unsplash

Today I Thought About Climate Change

How the world is heating up,

like crabs we wait painfully,

slowly boiling to our deaths.

I’ve reduced my meat

and dairy intake,

I recycle everything I can,

I try to shop seasonally

and be mindful of my waste.

I turn off plug sockets, taps, and lights,

I only travel out of necessity,

I spread the word and shop sustainably but I

just ordered something

off Amazon;

I had a steak last week;

I don’t donate to charity;

I scroll past articles

on how the world is falling apart;

I take road trips in a petrol car;

last night I threw

some oranges away

I let them mould in the bowl;

I should have eaten them

but instead I close my eyes,

try to shut it out but

the guilt lingers.

It consumes me like

a maggot

inside

a fallen peach.

I’m unable to stop it,

it makes me feel sick

and the pain in my stomach travels

to my head and I cry inside,

praying I’m not the only one.

I’m scared to grow up even more,

to watch this get worse,

I don’t want to miss the sound

of bird song,

the smell of pollen,

spring in the air,

the crisp dew dropping off

the long meadow grass.

I take my breaths slow and deep,

indulging while I have the chance.

Hoping for the best always

preparing for the worst.

nature poetry
6

About the Creator

Aisha Lama

Aspiring author/blogger; pet owner; music enthusiast; food lover.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Tyler Sadek9 months ago

    Interesting post.

  • Ashley Callea2 years ago

    Thank you for sharing!

  • Kendra Marya2 years ago

    I feel this. Living in capitalism is agonizing.

  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    Bring your concerns and fears to God and he will bear fruit from your troubles :) <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.