Poets logo

Today

Morning

By Paul MerkleyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Today

In the softing of the morning

Spirit sings a sweet refrain

Far above the Earthly clatter

Well apart from mortal chatter

Through my being gentling coursing

Filling me with IT again

As I listen to Its keening

Carried light on wings of Grace

Racing here from distant region

Beauty rare and wonders legion

Though I cannot speak ITS meaning

I make haste to match ITS pace

Cats are quiet while I listen

They respect the silent tuning

Spirit sings ITS song to me

Notes from deep transfinity

Light within begins to glisten

With a stirring and a sooning

I hear humming, far off calling

As a distant bell is knelling

There’s an inner gong that’s sounding

Quickly it returns resounding

Sky, truth, love, and day are falling

Whispered wisdom gently telling

In the quiet of this morning there's an otherworldly HUe

I thank IT, I thank him, and I thank you

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Paul Merkley

Co-Founder of Seniors Junction, a social enterprise working to prevent seniors isolation. Emeritus professor, U. of Ottawa. Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Founder of Tower of Sound Waves. Author of Fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.