Poets logo

To the Sea

A poem by a city-dwelling mermaid

By Amelia WPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
To the Sea
Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

When I lose my way,

Take me back to the sea.

Teach me how to float around,

Lay back, relax and be.

Remind me how much I angry laugh

When pebbles stab and tickle my feet.

How I hold my own

While bursting through foam

When waves and shoreline meet.

Twisted anticipation in my belly,

As salt water swells and roars.

And after each wave

My body will crave

To stand again, as I did before.

It’s force is great and restoring,

Hypnotic and terrifyingly strong.

It’s beauty unmatched in the morning,

At night, sings a darker song.

How to explain the unexplainable,

Of why we all flock to the shores?

But how remarkably relatable,

That we wish to catch a glimpse once more.

If you ever look and cannot find me

Or fear I’m permanently lost at sea,

I’ll be where seagulls roam

And wave tips foam

Bobbing happily, laughing, and free.

nature poetryperformance poetry
1

About the Creator

Amelia W

She/Her

Hi, I’m Amelia, (Amy), I’m an Actor, Drama Practitioner, Youth Worker and poet. I began writing my first novel in lockdown.

Thanks for stopping to have a read :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.