Poets logo

To The Ephemeral You

an epistolary poem

By Rebekah ConardPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1
To The Ephemeral You
Photo by Alia Wilhelm on Unsplash

Dear You,

The fleeting feeling that something perfect existed

if only for a moment

despite all I've been told about the myth of perfection,

The image behind my eyes of the "Manic Pixie Dream Girl"

in the moments between when I first read that phrase

and then learned what it meant,

The soft,

that's it, just soft, because when I try to tell somebody else

what You looked like in the blink of an eye, it was only

Soft cheeks, Soft hair, Soft eyes, Soft shoulders,

and I can only assume every single piece of You starts with "soft,"

except, maybe, "warm,"

The one who makes me think "Ramona Flowers" but

my brain instinctively wants to delete all the context

the themes, the motifs, the character arcs,

every modicum of meaning except that moment when Scott experiences

Her,

You,

Hey, You,

You'll never guess where I saw You,

last night.

For just a moment,

You were there in the mirror.

Please, come back soon.

Sincerely, Me

artlove poemsinspirational
1

About the Creator

Rebekah Conard

31, She/Her, a big bi nerd

How do I write a bio that doesn't look like a dating profile? Anyway, my cat is my daughter, I crochet and cross stitch, and I can't ride a bike. Come take a peek in my brain-space, please and thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.