Poets logo

To Say Goodnight

a serious limerick

By R.C. TaylorPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
To Say Goodnight
Photo by Alexander Andrews on Unsplash

all my nightmares left their playgrounds in the dark to shadow dance in the light

and I was left silver lining fishing for you in the sea of uncertainty in spite

of the fact that I knew that the You I fell in love with didn't exist and sue

me for repeatedly leaving but in the end I always couldn't resist returning to you,

faithful, forgiving tide to the moon who showed a different face every night

nature poetrysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsheartbreak
3

About the Creator

R.C. Taylor

Part-time daydreamer. Full-time dork.

Follow along for stories about a little bit of everything (i.e. adventure, nostalgia, and other affairs of the heart, and anything else I want to honor and hold space for).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    You sure know how to make limericks a serious thing. This was another gut puncher. Beautifully written, RC!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Beautiful piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.