Poets logo

To Pretend

Poem: Self Expression about not wanting to face reality

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
To Pretend
Photo by Kristina Tripkovic on Unsplash

To Pretend

I just want to pretend a little longer,

to hold on to the brief moments of cheer,

the excitement of meeting someone new,

to dive into you without the repercussions of knowing,

to act like in the moment is all that matters,

I just want to pretend what you said isn't true,

even though I know it is a part of you,

I just want to hold onto the feeling of being held,

without thinking about how this wont end well,

I want to keep learning about you,

without understanding the absence of you,

I want to pretend that the experiences are still ahead,

but I just sit here feeling the impending dread instead,

I just want to pretend a little while longer,

before the lonely finds its way home with me again,

before the feeling of touch, once again leaves my skin,

before I no longer can taste you on my lips,

I just want to pretend,

That I don't care what others think,

to not feed into the fear they fed me,

to believe the good in everyone,

despite how the internet has me questioning,

Before I claim the rights to what is right,

and acknowledge what I know to be true,

I just want to pretend,

To have a little more time with you.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.