Poets logo

To Parents Who Are Fed Up With Their Kids

A poem about not understanding one another, but who is the adult in the room? By ED 4/18/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
To Parents Who Are Fed Up With Their Kids
Photo by Valeria Zoncoll on Unsplash

Instead of rolling your eyes

And hoping I’ll give up

Maybe encourage my dreams

Instruct me through each hiccup

When I don’t know how to act

And my emotions flare up hot

Give me some space, a little patience

Instead of telling me you better not

In case of a bad accident

Whether it’s my fault or no

Shock, horror, and outrage

Aren’t the emotions you should show

Through forgetfulness and overwork

Would you appreciate

Comparisons and accusations

Disappointment and contempt are just great

When the struggle becomes too much

It’s discouraging to hear the hiss

From blood and biggest fans

The real world won’t tolerate this

Lack of understanding isn’t an excuse

Illness and exhaustion are not lies

Don’t you remember when all you could do

Was lay down defeated and cry

If you’ll preach when I was your age

And then tell me something

That has no relevance anymore

In my eyes it amounts to nothing

Now I know you aren’t almighty

Not Superman or Wonder Woman

But neither am I, can’t we see eye to eye

Because in the end we are all just human

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.