Poets logo

To My Queen

Thank You

By Delwin MarreroPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I remember that chilly December night

The pale crescent moon hovered above us

Peeking from behind itself

Curious to see where this fateful encounter would take us

Witnessing the beginning of our love story

As we moved in time at the speed of light

Our love story continues

The freckles adorning your face still shine

Like the pale crescent moon on that chilly December night

  • When failures pounce on me,

    Causing my smile to fade and my shoulders to slump

    You lift me up

        • Depression and anxiety

          Dare not approach me in your presence

          As the comfort and safety you give are infinite.

          • When worthlessness greets me once more

            Making eyes grow hot and my inner-voice rebel against me

            You show me my worth.

            • When self-loathing puts its arms around me

              Leading me to stab my nails into my skin and believe cruel words

              You cover my ears

              • No other person could have this impact on me

                And for that,

                I'll love you

                In this lifetime and every single one after

Thank you, my wife

For saving my life on that chilly December night

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Delwin Marrero

I'm just a personal trainer pretending to be a good writer.

I started writing in April 2022 due to my newfound love for Dungeons & Dragons.

Inspiring me to transport myself into fantastic worlds and incredible stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.