Poets logo

To my friends

An ode

By Elizabeth PerksPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
To my friends
Photo by Chang Duong on Unsplash

To my friends,

I raise a never-ending glass of our favourite drink.

A glass half-full – God forbid if its ever half empty.

I love you all, even if there are things I dislike.

Yet, I am far from perfect, so

I put my ego aside

and always greet you with a hug.

When you are in need, someone will climb mountains to be there for you.

I will move them.

I may not always act direct to your aid,

but I will certainly aid in the clever way.

And if I burn my brain trying to do so,

then know that it was worth my time,

because I will always make time for you.

I pray I always make you laugh and never cry,

and if I do then tears of joy.

So drink up my friends!

And know that it I a pleasure to know the ones who influence me.

Because you’ve burned and borrowed your way into my heart.

And all I can dream and hope:

Is that there’s a small place for me in yours.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Perks

A handful of words written by me in an attempt to better my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.