Poets logo

To My First Love

Learn to forgive yourself.

By Summer LambatanPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

There is nobody else,

Who made me feel love,

And hatred,

All at once,

Like you did.

You were a friend and an enemy,

A little voice of doubt in my mind

A piece of me I will always need

To feel whole.

To feel like myself.

Because when days were good

They were good,

But when days were bad,

It felt like hell.

Reprehensible,

And manic,

And terrifying.

Like I was trapped inside a ditch

Digging myself down,

Telling myself that I am unworthy

Of forgiveness.

I was my enemy

before I was ever my friend,

It felt easier to hate myself than

To give myself the love I deserved.

I accept all the bad,

And the manic,

And the terrifying,

And the out

Of

Control

Days.

You gave me strength,

And love,

And passion.

So to my first love,

I forgive you.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Summer Lambatan

just a self proclaimed writer & filmmaker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.