Poets logo

To my Dear Bookstore

Thank You

By Delwin MarreroPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

My dear bookstore

I feel the most relaxed,

When I vanish into the sea of shoulder-high shelves,

Bathe in the scent of fresh ink and crisp paper

and drown in the waves as I flip the pages of your books.

My dear bookstore

I feel the most joyful,

When you take me on a million quests in a million macrocosms.

All of them unique.

All of them remarkable.

Where everything and anything is possible.

Where no anxiety nor depression can find me.

My dear bookstore

I feel the least lonely,

When I can hear and see those accompanying me on this journey.

Like the people in line to receive a signed copy from their favorite author.

Or the excited, silent scream of a teen,

Finding the last copy of the book she has been searching for.

Or the group of elderly people sitting in cozy chairs,

exchanging mischievous looks,

As they silently flip through the pages of a spicy novel.

Or the man ready to set sails in search of his dreams in the business aisle.

My dear bookstore

Thank you for all that you do

And for constantly feeding my curious mind.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Delwin Marrero

I'm just a personal trainer pretending to be a good writer.

I started writing in April 2022 due to my newfound love for Dungeons & Dragons.

Inspiring me to transport myself into fantastic worlds and incredible stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.