Poets logo

To My Child

A lamentation for a life lost

By KSPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I see your face as I close my eyes.

Tiny nose and mouth, no beauty could compromise

So sweet your smile

Soft and kind

Your angelic voice asks to stay awhile

I feel as if I have lost my mind

My sin and guilt scared upon my face.

In a whisper I beg forgiveness from his grace.

My fear and weakness brought me there

And you were taken to my despair

Empty now in life’s great throughs

I reflect upon my choice in wailful woe

For you were beauty and God’s great gift

I know now I can never heal this rift

Ill pray for thee till my dying day

In brief hope that I will see you someday.

Until then I carry on

Slowly still the days drag on

Waiting for the day to come

For deaths sweeping hand to take me home

-KS

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

KS

Just a writer looking for a outlet. Constructive critisism is always wanted!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.