Poets logo

To Michael

[not] love at first sight

By Alana S. LeonardPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
©Constantine Photography, 2021

When I first saw you,

standing still, frozen in fear, 


you made me laugh. 


Even though there were no more than a dozen of us there, 


you were terrified to play in front of us. 


But you did, and you were good.


It was not love at first sight. 


-

Ours was not love at first,


second,


tenth,


or twentieth sight. 


It was a love that started unexpectedly,


and grew. 


-

When I first saw you,


I did not see our future: 


our first kiss [on our first date],


our first fight [when we got too drunk], 


our first apartment [barely big enough for one person].

-

I did not see our wedding day,


full of love and rain and mud and joy. 


I did not see the love we would have. 


I saw you, and that was all. 



-

But when you asked me to go to dinner, 
two years later,


I was not surprised.

Everything felt right.

-

We did not fall in love. 


We settled into it, knowingly and completely.

-

We took a long time to spark, but our flame grew and grew.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Alana S. Leonard

A long-time lover of reading and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.