Poets logo

To Look Up and Smile

When the heart doesn't feel

By Cathy holmesPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Photo by Javier Alleque-Barros on Unsplash

I can’t look up and smile today

For something’s out of place

Every time my eyes cast upward

Tears stream down my face

*

It’s been two years this very day

Since you left our earthly plain

And life goes on without you

But will never be the same

*

And now I’ve lost another

That you know oh so well

I’m asking for your help today

So on sadness I don’t dwell

*

I can’t look up and smile today

While grief imprisons my heart

But there’s something you can do for me

If your courage you impart

*

I know she may be nervous

Or perhaps feels she’s not ready

But I know that with your calming presence

You can keep her strong and steady

*

This evening when the sun goes down

And a million stars are in bloom

Please take her hand and teach her how

To swing upon the moon

*

I know that you can do it

I’ve seen you many times before

Please help her swing upon the moon

So I can smile once more.

sad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (28)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock12 months ago

    This is absolutely beautiful, Cathy. You brought a tear to my eye. Praying that there are smiles in your future.

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    😔🌝 Lovely words and rhyme scheme. ☺️

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    such gorgeous work Cathy! So sorry 4 your loss!

  • Lilly Cooper12 months ago

    So pretty and so heart-rending 💗

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Beautifully done, I hope you can smile soon. ❤️

  • So well done Cathy...Beautiful

  • Very emotional well done Cathy you definitely tugged on my heart

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Amen! 🙏🏽 The beauty in your words tugs at the heartstrings. Very well done.

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    I love this so much, dear friend! "Please take her hand and teach her how To swing upon the moon" -- simply beautiful. A very heartfelt and emotional poem 🥹❤️

  • This was so emotional and touching. I like how this is like a continuation from your other poem that has similar context. Sorry I forgot the title. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Oh my, I love how this ties in with your winning haiku! My favorite part: “This evening when the sun goes down And a million stars are in bloom Please take her hand and teach her how To swing upon the moon” As hard as it is to lose two people you love, it must be comforting to picture them together like that. Some days, you cannot stop the tears from flowing, no matter how positively you try to see things. That’s okay. I’m grateful you shared this poem with us.

  • Colleen Millsteed 12 months ago

    Sending hugs my dear friend, from one broken heart to another 💔

  • Lena Folkert12 months ago

    Oh, my friend. You have me in tears. So sad... but so beautiful. Lots of hugs to you. <3

  • Rachel Deeming12 months ago

    Very moving.

  • Clyde E. Dawkins12 months ago

    So so beautiful! Love and prayers go to you!

  • Veronica Coldiron12 months ago

    Lots of love and prayers, Cathy. This is beautifully written. ❤️

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Big Hugggggg Cathy ! Beautifully expressed. 🥰

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    This is so beautiful , grieving is very hard . I hope this poem give you comfort.

  • Alex H Mittelman 12 months ago

    A great poem! Wonderfully written!

  • Caroline Craven12 months ago

    Gosh. This is beautiful. “While grief imprisons my heart”. Great line.

  • Sending hugs for these beautiful but sad words

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Poignantly beautiful, Cathy! I hope you can find some solace in your own wonderful words. Wishing you peace!

  • Naveedkk 12 months ago

    Super!!! Excellent story!!!❤❤

  • Cendrine Marrouat12 months ago

    This is so beautiful, Cathy! This part is especially moving: "Please take her hand and teach her how To swing upon the moon"

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    There is a lump in my throat and tears are in my eye. That was beautiful heartbreaking!!!💕💕

Cathy holmesWritten by Cathy holmes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.