Poets logo

To Know Avail

An open heart reflected upon unavailable people

By THE ALYHPublished 5 years ago 1 min read

i taught them

so quietly, in such a tiny body.

they knew, only somewhat, a gift when they saw one.

but, like me, had no way to articulate.

the exchange was subtle rejection,

essential crushing,

proverbial killing.

teaching and learning are cycles

i am okay with,

provided we skip their danger zones.

(i’m still sore where they forgot about me,

still fragile where they only remembered my transparency.)

pt. 2

...and that cloak was a curse too.

the mirror i was

was in the way

of the way

they hated themselves.

i thought that

if i only reflected love,

they would drop walls

to see themselves

in me.

but elusive as i am,

they only shattered me

only caring to destroy me

for all the times i would

try.

art

About the Creator

THE ALYH

A hybrid creative driven to connect and destined for play. I see lifestyle and experience as forms of art, and use self-study as my fuel and my science. My heaviest themes are high-sensitivity, intuition, and awareness. I just love being.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    THE ALYHWritten by THE ALYH

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.