Poets logo

to haunt a ghost

a poem

By Love J.Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
to haunt a ghost
Photo by Jan Canty on Unsplash

I have spent my whole life

looking for sparks

As a dead person tends to do

Warm, muggy evenings

The grass was so itchy on our legs

Cracking my neck to see the stars

Breaking my bones to glimpse you

Balancing on corners

Only cement will cushion the fall

Maybe being a hopeless romantic

Finally killed me after all

Looking for sparks swallowed by the haze

In a place with sixty thousand ghosts

I want you to haunt me, darling

But how did we die?

Where did I go?

Did you jump? Did we survive the fall?

Will we be forever stuck where I was buried

Books and papers surrounding me

Cool marble under my feet

Cold and porcelain

As my cheek nowadays

Mouth open, a big wide O

Before we crash to the cement?

Lightning reigns down around us

There's a crackle when we touch

Static electricity

Defibrillators, pumping through us, carrying us to the present

To a reality only one of us is willing

Or wanting to see

I drop my mascara every morning

Clattering around

My hand shakes, I can’t grip the bottle

Maybe it's passing through my skin

translucent

Visible arteries, empty, cold and blue

My heart refuses to yield my blood

Refuses to listen to my brain

As I stare into a mirror that shows me everything but what I want to see

Green like jealousy?

Can I envy you?

Can ghosts even feel?

sage, glen, forest, moss, mold

But I can’t make you jealous

Over someone you don’t want

The tombstone is mossy, cool to the touch

Utterly abandoned

Maybe forgotten

Start to end, life to life

Ghosts have a way of sticking around

my fantasies, my beauties

You haunt me

I look at you

You look through me

Maybe I haunt you

What are you even looking for?

What am I even hoping for?

We never match up

Poltergeist. Phantom. Spector

Lock your doors

Pour your salt. Tablespoons of honey.

Hang your rosary. Dried flowers,

Make me leave.

But what does a ghost do

When they are haunted?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Love J.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.