Poets logo

To Give and Not Recieve

Workplace and Home.

By Lucy RichardsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
To Give and Not Recieve
Photo by Ivan Aleksic on Unsplash

I don't like my home, I bleed for it.

I give and give each day to some kids,

I work myself to the bone,

I cry each day I come home more tired,

And I can't get away from it for shit

Because I don't like my home,

Because I can't live without mine

Because it turns me to stone,

Because it shatters me in time,

And because it puts me back together

And I don't like my home, I love it

And I call my home my work,

And I know teaching gives so much

And I know I receive so little

And I know it tears me apart

But I wouldn't change it for the world

Each drop of blood, sweat, and tears

I give for these kids to learn

I give so someone else may receive

My work is my home,

And I could carry on the refrain for ages

Going on about each struggle and each gift

But my work is my home

And there's someone waiting for me there.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Lucy Richardson

I'm a new writer who enjoys fiction writing, personal narratives, and occasionally political deep dives. Help support my work and remember, you can't be neutral on a moving train.

https://twitter.com/penname_42

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.