Poets logo

To Cast a Stone

Simply as I am

By Marilyn GloverPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
To Cast a Stone
Photo by Sudarshan Bhat on Unsplash

There once was a time when being well liked held its utmost importance

A teenage girl longing for acceptance; to blend in with the faction

To merge with the clique meant surrendering my own notions of individuality

I could not comply; my spirit was too free; truthfully speaking

It would take years to entirely grasp, not conforming

Hence, a stone was cast; to be alone

Oh, how those stones would just keep coming my way; depression

Maybe I just wasn’t likeable, perhaps being cast aside was good

I was told I was too small, my clothes were weird; shunned

My imagination was eager, however, and I held on

Throughout the years, searching for all the answers

While the wayward one’s stared in disapproval

I never blended in with the crowd, not even as an adult

Yet the stones just kept being cast and cast some more

I think people fear anything that is different from the

Safety of their very own little bubble of a world; sad

Still I travelled the lonely road; accumulated, rocks in tow

A long journey of unanticipated storms until the crossroad

Exhausted from carrying this load, I could move no more

I unburdened this weight, yes years of collected rocks

A part of me wanted to take every single grit, every

Fistful of chucked pebbles, and bulldoze them back

To the feet of all the naysayers, the sour grape spatters,

Instead, I became strong like the cast stones; solid

Uncovering the pillar of power inside me, waiting

To be unleashed; chained in captivity no more

As if I built a shrine before me, finally honoring my life

Oh, the angels in heaven truly did rejoice that day

To simply exist is to waste precious time, but to

Live and thrive, that is what being alive really is

I would honor my demure size, celebrate my unique style

And each day forward be most happy, simply as I am

By Sammie Vasquez on Unsplash

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.