Poets logo

To Be

It feels so bewildering

By Rae SolacePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

When I unconsciously turned

the other cheek for my own

raised hand,

You remarked on the

Sharpness

of my practiced strike

after the split-second memory

rose

upon my flesh.

The ardent surprise in your tone

Made me flinch.

Eyes wide with worry,

I quickly replied, “It didn’t hurt,

I promise,”

And tentatively set my hands down,

So small,

on the floor before me.

Truth be told,

I hadn’t realized that my humbling

fingers had moved even

an inch,

So routine was their touch.

And still your voice

clasped that absent-minded pain

Firmly in the air

Without

a single question.

God,

Please tell me why

it feels so bewildering

To be loved.

love poemssad poetry
1

About the Creator

Rae Solace

An amateur in all regards except taste. Fiction writer, poet, jewelry-maker, craft-maker, painter.

English Creative Writing BA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.