Poets logo

To Be Me:

Lunar & Solar

By Paula ShabloPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
9
Winter Moon

Sometimes it feels necessary to remind myself

Nothing in this world is forever constant

Like the ever-changing moon, I must be flexible

It’s full now, but soon only half will be visible

And not long after that

Only a fingernail sliver will remain

Of course, the whole moon is there

It is; we just can’t see its entirety.

The sun, however, is subtle

Appearing and disappearing at different times each day

But in minute variances, hardly made note of

And shifting its position on the horizon in miniscule distances

Barely noticed from one day to the next

So, would I be the moon, blatantly changing

Day to day, week to week and

Crying out for attention in each phase?

Or should I be the subtle sun,

Sneaking its way across a daily path

That ventures off course so stealthily one scarcely takes notice?

I do admit I sometimes feel a desire to cry out:

Look at me! Look at me! Notice who I am today!

But mostly, like the sun,

I prefer to be relied on for my steady same-nesses

And regarded with calm nonchalance

surreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Paula Shablo

Daughter. Sister. Mother. Grandma. Author. Artist. Caregiver. Musician. Geek.

(Order fluctuates.)

Follow my blog at http://paulashablo.com

Follow my Author page at https://www.amazon.com/Paula-Shablo/e/B01H2HJBHQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.