Poets logo

Tired

I understand for the first time / Why old people say...

By Benjamin KibbeyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3

I understand for the first time

Why old people say

They are ready to move on and

Rest in their graves.

I could not fathom a tired that

Would so motivate,

Or the fatigue in their bones that

Could cause such an ache.

But today, it made sense, when I

Thought back on our days,

Recalled dream's beginning and all

Things that must fade.

I'm so tired, my dear. I don't

Want more of this;

Life's feast, it has filled me, and I'm

Ready to quit.

I want to fold up my napkin,

Cross forks on my plate,

Push back from the table and

Just step away.

I don't believe in an after,

Or God who awaits.

I don't expect friends to greet me

With welcoming face.

I do not believe this would be

A slumber or peace,

Just a simple surrender to

The end of the feast.

I showed you a poem back when

We were first met,

A prosaic thing about all

My constant regrets.

It spoke of hellos, goodbyes and

My wandering thoughts,

Of empty in fullness and all

My feelings on loss.

I guess I'll add a line about

This short episode,

And perhaps one more weight to the

Smothering load.

But I'm tired, my dear, I don't want

To know more of this

Life that just takes and takes and takes...

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Benjamin Kibbey

Award-winning journalist, Army vet and current freelance writer living in the woods of Montana.

Find out more about me or follow for updates on my website.

You can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Awesome!!! Love this!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    I really liked your poem; it was crafted well and deep in deliberately chosen words. Good job!

  • Ha Le Sa3 months ago

    Fantastic poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.