Poets logo

Timeline

Poetry About Social Media

By K. ExumPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Today’s poem focus on my thoughts on Social Media and what I often see on my timeline. Tell me what you think in the comments below.

Social media got nothing but clones

It’s nothing but people saying they on their own

But all they do is copy the person before them post

Look at these kids fighting

Kids fighting more and more

Parents don’t want to be in their kids’ life they rather press ignore

Then you got dudes showing off their guns like its show and tell

Rather play with guns than put the ball in the net

They stay out in the streets shooting like they on a movie set

Once behind bars they looking for a reset

Then you got the women online whining

Long messages down my timeline

About the last dude

I mean you chose the dude ,

You picked the dude that was so rude

Talk to you like you wasn’t nothing, and you stuck to him like you were glued

He was known all around for slanging his meat like a deli

And you still let him put it in your belly

You knew he was the opposite of wealthy

Now he cheated on you and now all of sudden his meat smelly

And his pipe game weak, knowing he was knocking your stuff down like Ali

And now every dude ain’t this

This why me and these girls can’t coexist

Then they claim no good dudes exist

I mean me and the billion others sitting right here

But that’s not what you want to hear

To you we all the same

Just another squirrel trying to get a nut

I forgot I’m not your type

Most of the women want the gang banging type

The one that’s going to knock you up

Then going to get locked up

I swear half these girls just want drama

Wants to be a queen but turns into another baby mama

But let me keep scrolling

The media be having heads spinning

One day it’s about something political

People talking about how this makes everything difficult

Then it’s about a celebrity sex tape

No one can keep their eyes on one thing

Just worried about the new thing

It seems like another body drop every week

But we to worried about which team this week ready to ball

While people getting gun down in the streets

It’s all about what cop pulled the heat

Gunning down more people that snitch and take a plea

Every case is a resemblance

Shoot someone to show you more real but can’t take responsibility for your own actions

People getting locked away for a hood or clique that won’t even take care of your family when you dead and gone

Let’s just keep going

Everyone claim they independent

But follow every trend

I refuse to blend

I been there done that no more playing pretend

Too many focused on staying in the in crowd

End up losing there self

Then you got the bullies

Talk crazy online but in person they on mute

My timeline be crazy that’s why I leave it on mute

Because its all the same

Just another thing to take you off your game

Timeline

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

K. Exum

Blogger, Poet, and Author from Landover, Maryland. Author of The Story Of Charles Levi on Amazon. Multiple spoken word singles and a project on streaming platforms. Check out my blog www.piecesofk.blog Follow my IG & X @thtstonedpoet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.