Poets logo

Time to say goodbye

A poem about letting go

By JPWrites.2Published 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Time to say goodbye
Photo by Renee Fisher on Unsplash

In that moment it was the right decision

Letting go, and moving on

It was time you see, time to transition

It was time for new

Time for me to say goodbye

I told myself it was the right thing to do

I said “it’s okay, you will be fine”

It hurt like hell, and I almost couldn’t watch you go

But I stood strong, barely shed a tear

But that was then and this is now

Now all I feel is fear…

For I never should have kissed your forehead that day

I should have just returned you to your home

With me by your side, not away

You should still be here within the throw of a stone

I loved you, and I know you loved me

Through every up and every down

You could have chose to flee

Time and time again you stayed, on your own

Maybe you knew I had treats

Or maybe our bond was stronger than that

Maybe you just had all your loyalties

Placed in me, with no doubt

Even as I forced you to wear my hat

Because you saved me, you brought light

Light to an otherwise dark room

And I lost all sight

Of every struggle and any possible doom

You brought me into an escape

Reminded me to enjoy every moment

And to enjoy the simple things like sounds and shapes

You took me away from all torment

And when all else failed you soaked up my tears

And your personality made me giggle and smile

Because you separated me from my fears

And every moment with you was like a mile..

A mile above all else in the universe

Just at peace, with you

With no end, and zero sense

I fed you snacks, and ate my own, because like the sun we would always rise too

I miss you so much

Everything we had, I never should have waved goodbye

I loved you with every last touch

And I know that your personality will always shine

Much love old friend…..

Goodbye isn't forever, and I know that everyday you still live in my heart.

Meet you again one day

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

JPWrites.2

Hey everyone! just a small town author here writing a bit of everything.

Feel free to email me ideas or just check out my socials!

[email protected]

Insta @Jpwrites.2

Share, follow, enjoy! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.