Poets logo

Time Stood Still on the Dancefloor

When you know, you know

By Gillian Lesley ScottPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Authors own

At the edge of the dance floor

I saw my future husband

He didn’t know it

Of course, he didn’t know me… yet

I knew with a certainty that was felt

In my bones

He was the one who would have my back

And allow me to be me

All this without speaking a word

There would be children who were gentle

And feisty

And very smart

Time was marching on

But in that moment

It stood still

And I knew my life companion

Was right there

With a drink in hand

a smart suit

And an unapproachable air

But I’m not one to sit and wait

Couldn’t put my finger on it but they were Earth to my fire

I felt the significance then

Even though I knew not

How it would evolve for sure

I knew it would

And 25 years later

We’re good

There’s been ups and downs, distances and closeness, of course

We are ordinary people after all

But the night time stood still for me

In that run down night club so long ago

Has been a gift

And I’m grateful for all of it

love poems
5

About the Creator

Gillian Lesley Scott

Scots born Australian. Tales of being human. Despite aiming for the highest good of all, not always successful

https://www.instagram.com//gillesleyscott//

https://www.facebook.com/gillian.l.scott

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.