Poets logo

Time

The first draft of a poem.

By Jaci SchreckengostPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Time
Photo by Benjamin Rascoe on Unsplash

Time

There is never enough time, is there?

I notice the hands stop moving,

then the clock shatters into

pieces. The man with the

pocket watch tells me

not to worry.

He tells me

not to

go.

______________________________

Hi there, thanks for reading. I'm writing some more poetry lately, trying to stretch my poetry muscles before April, which is National Poetry Month.

This is a nonet poem, a nine-line poem with 1 less syllable per line. I got this prompt from @AmyKayPoetry — it was one of her prompts last year, and it’s still in her Instagram highlight for writing prompts.

If you want more writing delivered right to your inbox, check out my monthly newsletter here.

Not ready for that kind of commitment? I get it. If you liked this, I recommend checking out Cheers, another poem, or Graveside, a piece of short fiction.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jaci Schreckengost

Hey there, I'm Jaci Schreckengost.

Here are some pieces of my writing. They're all drafts; some on revision one, some on revision ninety.

You can see more of my work at jacischreckengost.com. I'm also on Instagram @JaciSchreckengost.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.