Poets logo

Tides

By Phantasma

By Rachel JacobsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Crona from Soul Eater

The odds within the tides are so familiar;

Wanting to crash against the rocky shore,

Yet always pulling away to retreat, to hide.

I’ve always wanted to be the life of the party!

A beautiful girl with an enthralling laugh.

Or a woman with style, a woman who is smart.

The woman who causes crooked smiles

In strangers on cracked sidewalks.

When I boom, and when I roar, it's quite

Awkward, it is bone chilling actually,

How I manage to make people's skin crawl.

So I am lost in a world where my head

Is stuck in the clouds, and I am the

Life of the party. The child who won

Class president in the 5th grade.

The person who likes to read philosophy.

But when the waves slap the shore,

And I am knocked back into reality,

I am reading books of poetry, fantasy

And mangas. I am dressed in black

With dark eyes that fear eye contact.

I remember that my legs are riddled

With small and thick white lines.

Those lines that remember nights

Of crying in the shower, my only

Friend, a piece of jagged glass.

Jagged just like the rocks at the shore.

I remember how I yearn to be the

Face of conventional beauty; but

Instead, I am the face of an outcast.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Rachel Jacobs

Welcome to The Chameleon Heart.......

@phantasma.philosophy ~ Instagram for my poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.