Poets logo

Tides Have Turned

A Sonnet

By Mercedes ChavezPublished 21 days ago 1 min read

Through seasons of laughter and moments so dear,

We journeyed as comrades, with nothing to fear.

From the seeds of friendship in rich soil sown,

A love unexpected, like wildflowers grown.

************************************************

In the garden of trust, where our roots intertwined,

I found my heart captured by yours, so entwined.

What once was platonic, so simple and pure,

Has blossomed to passion, profound and sure.

************************************************

For years, side by side, through life's ebb and flow,

Never did I imagine our fondness would grow.

Beyond the horizon, where dreams come alive,

In the warmth of your love, I've found where I thrive.

************************************************

So here in this sonnet, I tenderly say,

My dearest friend, you've stolen my heart away.

In the dance of the stars, or the sun's gentle hue,

I never saw myself falling in love with you.

Sonnetlove poemsFriendship

About the Creator

Mercedes Chavez

Come with me, lets go on an adventure together, see the world through my eyes, let me paint a picture with my words, I promise you will be able to feel what I felt the first time I experienced it. Love, sadness and everything in between.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • angela hepworth20 days ago

    Such a good ending!!

  • Oh wow, this was super relatable. Loved your poem!

Mercedes ChavezWritten by Mercedes Chavez

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.