Poets logo

Thunderstorm Love

Reminiscent of Old Loves Poem Collection

By Lark SandovalPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Thunderstorm Love
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

You were the refreshing

September thunderstorm

I did not know I needed.

You came crashing

Into my life,

Then just as quickly

Rolled out.

Taking with you the pain

I had held onto

For far too long.

You were like the freshly

Watered grass at

The Eaglewood golf course

Where you stole a

Kiss so sweet.

Your kisses were electrifying

Those nights we spent overlooking

The valley.

Those quick

Jolts you sent

Grabbing my hand when your family

was not looking.

You did not make me

Feel silly for dancing in the rain,

You joined me.

Your smile infectious

As you listened to me

Blabber on and on.

You shocked me when you pushed me

Into the corner

Crashing your lips against mine

All the while the sounds of laser tag

Going on around us.

Then merely walking away without a word.

Like all beautiful thunderstorms

You had to leave

Taking your rains to someone else.

I would be lying if I said I was not jealous.

The night you left I was the one

Who could not stop crying.

I could not

Let you go.

I forced myself to walk

Away from you,

To let you move on

To greater things.

As I hear the stories

Of your travels,

I cannot help but think of the joy

You bring to people.

You were my

Thunderstorm love.

You came only

For a short while,

Yet I was left

Changed and new.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Lark Sandoval

Hello! I am a creative soul who loves to share her thoughts and emotions. I am a nerd of almost every subject and love to learn more.

I am also not great about sharing info about myself haha. Here is to all the creative souls out there.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lark SandovalWritten by Lark Sandoval

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.