Poets logo

Through the Tide

The most vivid lucid dream I’ve ever had.

By Allyson HowellPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Through the Tide
Photo by Akira Hojo on Unsplash

I had a dream when I was younger,

I was swimming in a mansion’s pool.

My legs were gone,

replaced by a tail.

Yes, indeed,

I thought I was a mermaid.

But the way my tail fell was mystical,

like the dress of a princess.

Started as sleek and scaly,

ended as a gorgeous and elegant ruffle.

I felt lucid.

I felt alive.

I felt myself really swim.

I felt myself being completely invested in what I didn’t know was a dream.

I didn’t need to know.

I didn’t want to know.

I admired my atmosphere.

The pool was a crystal turquoise sort of color,

lined with golden lights under the water around the walls.

The sky was a blend of black and navy blue,

and it was littered with stars.

I was underwater,

yet I still felt myself breathing.

It felt truly magical.

Then, suddenly, a figure reached out to me.

It was a merman.

He was young, thin, and honestly quite faceless.

He did have some features,

but the memory of his face has long since vanished from my mind.

His tail was much like my own, though.

The same kind of luxurious ruffle.

Once I took his hand,

I began to feel weightless.

We were dancing, twirling, and laughing.

I was mystified in the moment,

but so happy.

Everything went blurry and the sky began to spin like a whirlpool.

That was the moment when I woke up.

I had convinced myself that it was my first love,

but now I don’t find that to be true.

I remember his excitement when I told him I had dreamt about him.

We’d somehow talk for hours about it.

But now he’s gone,

moved on,

and I’ll have to learn to convince myself that it wasn’t him.

I’ll have to learn to dream in imperfections,

and perhaps the unidentified person in my dreams should remain unidentified.

If you liked this, please consider subscribing to my page or even leaving a tip. Your support means the world to me so thank you for reading!

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Allyson Howell

My name is Allyson Howell and I write about business, fiction, and everything related. I post monthly updates on the business side of my life, fiction, free verse poetry, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.