Poets logo

Through the Kitchen Window

Glassy Joy

By Kylie MartinPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

My heart said, ‘Absolutely not’

Hardened by pain

Calloused by the past

I never thought I’d live in this

I never thought it’d be you

Choring in the kitchen when I walked in

An instant click over something simple

Denial washed through my brain and body

I sought any deal breaker

Fear couldn’t stop it

Love came washing in

Movies, music, food, and dancing

Kisses and late night drives

Never ending laughter

Newness bursting at the seams

A glow recognizable

Cuts slowly sewn up with grace

Only tears of relief and unbelief

Bliss in the mundane with you by my side

I must rush back to that first night

To see you for the first time again

But what a joy to be caught up in the present

Playfully cooking and cleaning

Spatting over directions

Telling sleep to wait for the sweetest memories to be made

All to think, it started that night

Once glance in the kitchen

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Kylie Martin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.