Poets logo

Through rose tinted glasses.

A literary tale of life before trauma.

By Billie WhytePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

Through rose tinted glasses, I used to perceive

a world just as simple as one, two and three.

Not a care or a worry, nor fear or a fret

Not a scurry, a flurry or an ounce of regret.

Through rose tinted glasses, I used to perceive.

a world just as simple as a one, two and three.

Until one fateful day, my glasses broke

and in one violent motion I suddenly woke.

I cried with despair until I could cry no more,

I laid my head down right there on the floor.

You see what had happened, was the glasses I wore

were a symbol of hope and nothing much more.

You're blessed with a pair right until you feel,

such damage or trauma that you need to heal.

My rose tinted glasses, broken and shattered,

without them I felt so hopeless and battered.

And as the years go by and traumas take hold,

I'll never forget of a world once gold.

Through rose tinted glasses, I used to perceive.

a world pure as simple as a one, two and three.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Billie Whyte

Forever wingin' it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Nice piece 😉❤️💯🎯✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.