Poets logo

Three Things I Would Tell My Children If I Were Willing to Have Children

A Poem in Three Parts

By Beth HaywoodPublished 6 years ago 1 min read

One,

You were not planned,

And by that I mean,

By the time I was fifteen,

I had my life drawn out, I had connected the dots,

And you were not apart of my grand scheme to take over the world,

Using books and love and lots,

And lots of mayonnaise.

Two,

If you are anything like me,

You will have inherited my unruly hair,

And my strange ability to scrape my knees

At the earliest opportunity.

And I am sorry.

For already making your life harder than it needs to be.

But if you are anything like me,

You’ll have my soul,

strong-willed enough

That cities will crumble before your eyes.

And you will shout and scream and curse your way through the lies,

That the world has laid out.

Three,

unexpected things will happen to you,

You will meet people who will tear you down,

And find others,

Who will just as easily,

Build you up again.

But through you pain,

You will find a light, a fire in your heart,

And if you are anything like me,

You will not so easily be torn apart

Again.

inspirational

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BHWritten by Beth Haywood

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.