Poets logo

Three swimmers

A dream of sea and sky

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 26 days ago Updated 23 days ago 1 min read
7
The Comet: with kind permission of the Artist, Eileen Cooper RA.

I saw a maiden by the shore

Beneath a starlit sky.

Swimming in the waves she was,

Shameless in her nudity.

Earth, ocean, sky and woman

Were but one enduring memory.

Brighter than the starlight ran

Atop her foaming destiny.

O ~ 0 ~ o

I saw a mother by the shore

Beneath a starlit sky.

Swimming in the waves she was,

Shameless in her nudity.

Her haunting presence left a trail,

Her body soft and sleek yet found,

Her legs were surely mermaid's tail,

Poseidon's daughter, ocean bound.

O ~ 0 ~ o

I saw a lady by the shore,

Her argent hair a comet's tail.

Not a stitch of clothing wore

This lady of the water, frail.

Would, dear madam, you could take

This landsman's hand and make

A merman of me I would own

To join you in your briny home.

O ~ 0 ~ o

Alas, dear sir, it cannot be,

For sorceress I am not, I say.

On your dry land you must remain,

Watch o'er the shoreline when you may.

And should you see in yonder blue

My watery being you would know

That you may hold my image true,

As deep below the waves I go.

~ O ~ 0 ~ o

If you liked reading this, you might also enjoy:

Beneath a Tranquil Sky

O ~ 0 ~ o

The Comet is currently exhibited with other works by Eileen Cooper RA

EILEEN COOPER RA: Swimming in the Night Sky

Exhibition 8-27 April 2024

Rabley Gallery Marlborough Wiltshire SN8 2LW

rableygallery.com

art
7

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk24 days ago

    The blues always draw me in....just like your poem, too.

  • D. A. Ratliff25 days ago

    Lovely artwork and a poem worthy of its beauty. As Lindsay said, beautiful imagery! Nicely done!

  • Lindsay Sfara25 days ago

    Beautiful imagery in this poem!

  • The artwork seemed a little disturbing. Please don't get me wrong, it's beautiful but what I meant by disturbing it that when I first saw it, I thought that woman was raped, murdered by twisting her next and dumped into the ocean. I have no idea why my mind works this way 😅 Loved your poem!

  • Mark Graham26 days ago

    This is one picturesque piece of poetry. Quite visual.

  • Mariann Carroll26 days ago

    Great fantasy poetry 🙂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.