Poets logo

Three Different Ways to Answer a Question

Is this the magic working?

By Leah FolpePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Surely some of the garbage in the ocean

must have started out in my hand. In Iran,

pedestrians don’t have right of way anymore.

In Australia the whole world is burning.

I’m firmly convinced that there’s no such thing

as biodegradable glitter, otherwise why would it be all over

the bottom of my bag? So many people keep telling me

what they want to hear. Today a staple as long as my finger

lodged itself in the bottom of my Doc Marten.

Listening to the same song on repeat twenty-five times doesn’t solve the breakup.

How many times can I sex magic before it starts sex working?

Is this the magic working?

Is this where I get up and start picking garbage

off the side of the highway, my nightgown transparent

in the beam of your headlights a second before impact?

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Leah Folpe

Leah Folpe is the protagonist of an eighties horror film. She enjoys trying to unclog the sink drain in her rental house. She lives under a bridge and exacts tolls from passerby, but she heard you can make slightly more money doing this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.