Poets logo

Thoughts of pain

The right things to do

By GodsonPublished about a year ago 2 min read
2
Thoughts of pain
Photo by Road Trip with Raj on Unsplash

This is the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do

Letting you put yourself first because it means that much to me

Even if it brings me pain and questions

Even if it makes me feel like I’m not good enough

Knowing what you go through because I’m there myself

Being proud of you for taking the step to get the help and be better

Even if that means I’m not fully involved

Even if that means I have to be pushed aside

Knowing the future I see and planned

Knowing all the steps we were taking to finally get this right

Feeling a different love and happiness that we’ve never experienced

I’m proud of you regardless

You’ve made a step I couldn’t

You knew you had to get the help and put you first

That brings me happiness

Brings me joy

It even makes me admire you

Regardless of what it does to me

Regardless of what I may feel

I’m so proud of you

I know it’s something you need

Have needed it for a long time

That’s the first step in it all

Going through that hard path you avoid to get the help

Idk if doing this makes me selfless

Or if it makes me stupid

However, the love I genuinely have for you allows me to look at you and be proud of the woman you are

Proud that you’re taking those steps

Even if deep down I’m broke

Lost

Feel neglected and forgotten

YOUR happiness and peace is enough for me

Enough to keep me going

I believe in us

Always have and always will

I just want you to do what’s best and what’s gonna make you happy

I’ll be here waiting as your boyfriend

As your best friend I’ll continue to push you and encourage you to do what’s best

Sometimes the right decision sucks

Sometimes doing the right thing brings you pain

Sometimes doing the right thing genuinely breaks you

But doing the right thing for the person you love even if it doesn’t include you to me is probably the ultimate act of proving your love

And here I am once again trying to prove my love

Regardless of the fact I am a shell of a man without you

This is the first step in your path to redemption

This is your first step in the path of healing

This is your first step in finding yourself and seeing everything I see in you

I’m so proud of you

I’ll be here with open arms once your journey is completed

So we can continue ours

sad poetrylove poemslist
2

About the Creator

Godson

I finally found a place where I can openly speak my mind through my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Chevyabout a year ago

    🌹🌹 Deep Juice Keep Writing That Pain My Dawwg

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.