Poets logo

This Wonderful Group Of Folk

A Villanelle Tribute To The "UK & Irish Folk Music 60s-80s" Facebook Group And Its Members

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 6 months ago β€’ 2 min read
The "Bright Phoebus" Album Cover by Lal and Mike Waterson and the group image

Introduction

A couple of weeks ago (December 15th)I came across this wonderful folk group and thought I would share one of my folk playlists with the members. The article I shared contained American and British music and this was pointed out by Ken Joes in a friendly and constructive way, which gave me an idea for a series which I thought might catch a few people's attention. The first one which you can read here resulted in a lot of discussion, disagreements and agreements, suggestions and more.

I was shocked at the wonderful interactions and knowledge of the members and that gave me material to continue the series.

If you are not a Vocal member, if you sign up you will be able to leave comments on the article here, but I am fine with you just reading and maybe commenting in UK & Irish Folk Music 60s-80s where you can discover even more musical treasures.

I have included probably my favourite folk song, "Prince Heathen" btyMartin Carthy and Dave Swarbrick for you to listen to while you read this villanelle (if you want to) which is a thank you to everyone in this wonderful group and my first piece of writing in 2024.

Thank you once again everyone in UK & Irish Folk Music 60s-80s and have a wonderful 2024

πŸ₯πŸŽ΅πŸŽ»πŸŽΆπŸŽΌ

Thank You, You Wonderful Group Of Folk

For Welcoming Me, And Sharing Songs

Thanks For Your Friendly Kind Words And Talk

🎡🎻🎢

You Share Your Folk Stories And Your Thoughts

You Put Me Right When I Get It Wrong

Thank You, You Wonderful Group Of Folk

🎡🎻🎢

You Showed Me True Welsh Folk Like Ar Log

Which I Had Missed For Far, Far Too Long

Thanks For Your Friendly Kind Words And Talk

🎡🎻🎢

The "British Isles" Caused A Lot Of Talk

I Learned Much From This Wondrous Throng

Thank You, You Wonderful Group Of Folk

🎡🎻🎢

I'm Looking Forward To Learning More

From You All As We Chat On And On

Thanks For Your Friendly Kind Words And Talk

🎡🎻🎢

So Much MusicFor Us To Discover

In This Amazing Folk Tradition

Thank You, You Wonderful Group Of Folk

Thanks For Your Friendly Kind Words And Talk

πŸ₯πŸŽ΅πŸŽ»πŸŽΆπŸŽΌ

inspirationalVillanelleGratitudeFriendship

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯ Anna β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Carol β™₯

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    Happy New Year, Mike! Thanksgiving nicely villanelle-ized.

  • It sounds like a great group to be on! Excellent villanelle.

  • The people of that group sound so wonderful! I'm so happy you found such a pleasant and kind community to share you work with! Loved your Villanelle!

  • Chloe Gilholy6 months ago

    Reading this made me think of my father.

  • k eleanor6 months ago

    It's beautiful.

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.