Poets logo

This Ride Won't Stop Turning

Angel of Chaos

By Hannah MoorePublished 8 months ago 1 min read
16
This Ride Won't Stop Turning
Photo by Daniel Gregoire on Unsplash

I wonder, each sundown,

If when all stills at night,

When the chores are complete,

When my fears have took flight,

If a time ever comes when

My mind is less mired,

If my thoughts will stretch out,

But no, I’m too tired,

And I drift into sleep

With worries still massing

Like cumulonimbus,

Their tendrils harassing

The edge of my dreams, so

When an angel appears,

Her wing tips are red barbed,

Her face tracked with tears.

I turn from her, frightened,

And in every direction

The flat ground is flooded,

So I see my reflection,

And the angel is there,

It is my face I see,

My tear tracks are tightening,

My barbs cutting me.

And I tell her she promised,

She wanted much more,

And I answer, how can I?

My back is so sore?

I plead with her, maybe,

If I had time to think,

If the ride would stop turning,

If I stepped off this rink,

From out of the chaos,

My truth would arise,

My beauty would surface

A golden sunrise.

“Then this is your moment

To shine” whispered she,

And baring her teeth,

Held a gun to my knee.

surreal poetry
16

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake12 days ago

    You rocked it! Amazing!

  • Atomic Historian8 months ago

    This was a wild ride from beginning to end. I love it!

  • Andrei Z.8 months ago

    This is good! I think I could feel a bit of Poe's vibes. "Held a gun to my knee." - I wonder if I should try and crack this metaphor or if the "knee" stands here mostly to complement a rhyming scheme. Anyways, I like it! Kind of absurd: who would hold a gun to a knee, I mean, it's not comfortable. One most probably has to bend (squat probably?) to reach for another person's knee with a gun—must be very awkward—so funny though! I definitely love this metaphor!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Wonderfully written!!! What a twist at the end!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Denise E Lindquist8 months ago

    Thank you for this!❤️

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Dear Mrs. Hannah "Cu·mu·lo·nim·bus?" - Who, but you, would cloud us up with this marvelous entry. Jay

  • Test8 months ago

    outstanding

  • Whoaaaa, that ending was so scary! I was not expecting that twist at all! This was such a fantastic job that you did here with this poem!

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    Another great piece Hannah. I loved the glow and the rhythm.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Fantastic poem!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Incredible writing and I find it so relatable! That ending is awesome!

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    This is powerful stuff, Hannah. And yes, shocking ending for sure. Angel as gangster, not guardian. That's a strong image.

  • Test8 months ago

    Beautifully done -Though the ending is a bit of a shock! 🤍

  • Berry Driven8 months ago

    Gotta love a scary angel. That's one way to make you rest alright. Awesome.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.