Poets logo

This Poison

Why does it swirl in my veins, yet I live?

By Trevor Adonis StevensPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
This Poison
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

You live in me, but you sicken me.

Did I let you reign or did you take it?

When you come by I am acting like I’m making it, just faking it.

The sight of you gives me sore eyes, like sky gazing at noon high.

It burns to be near you. Do you think I fear you?

You can’t be happy if I ain’t. How are you living without the misery?

I’m miserable every day, how you ok is a mystery.

So I have the problem?! You are unaffected and feeling well.

I swear you set me up to fall and cracked a smile when I fell.

So this venom is for you and I hope it eats at your bones.

So they dissolve into foam and waste your happy tone.

This venom has aged and was brewed to perfection.

Wait a minute. Wait a second…. I’m spitting toxins at a reflection.

It’s an infection. It’s injected into my veins.

This poison is for real. Waste away! Feel my pain!

But I’m the one wasting away. Dying in silence.

This infection in my bones is trying to make me deny it.

This ain’t working. You are alive and thriving.

Why are you thriving?

Why are you striving while I’m over here hardly surviving?

Maybe I had this wrong. I haven’t uttered a word in your direction.

But I wanted you to see the pain, loneliness and rejection.

I wanted your affection but I’m a wreck and emotional mess.

I could just let it go but this poison is easier to digest.

I need to be free of this. Be rid of the venom to live.

All this wasted energy was pointless. When all I needed to do was forgive.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Trevor Adonis Stevens

A Philomath & Griot Djéli at heart. The library a match can't burn down.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.